RSS Feed

First steps in choosing to write a blog

April 25, 2011

I have to admit, my first blog isn’t what I had in mind, but the idea came to me while setting up my brand new webpage.

Before I decided to even write a blog, I did a bit of research first. First, I needed a real REASON for starting a blog, and the most pressing one is to get a web presence so that when people look for me, they can find me. Easy enough. Decision made.

Second, I needed to start my blog on a good foundation. I know there are a lot of places to host websites, so I decided to ask an expert for advice.

Luckily, I’m related to one. My lovely and talented step-daughter, Kelani Nichole, is a web expert and directed me to WordPress. I’m so glad I asked her! Everything I need is here on this site and I’m able to customize my site easily.Β  Even though I have a computer background, I have never done any web design, and WordPress is guiding me through the process.

So far today, I have registered my domain name, selected a “theme” for my site, and I have registered it with Google, Yahoo!, and Bing so that (hopefully) people will be able to find me when they look for me!

And now we reach this moment… where I’m adding my very first post.

My current goal for this blog is to communicate what I learn regarding the writing craft. I plan to post interesting and essential tidbits regarding writing that (I hope) other writers will find useful.

About Sheridan Jeane

Sheridan Jeane writes exciting and emotion-packed historical romances set in the Victorian Era that confront issues of trust and conformity. With the advent of the industrial age, life was changing. Many people tried to hold on to the old ways of life while others embraced the new opportunities open to them. Join Sheridan as she explores the clash between the old and the new. Sheridan has always loved books, history, and stories about amazing people who blaze new trails. Despite naming their daughter Sheridan because they thought it might someday look great on the cover of a book, Sheridan's parents urged her in a more practical direction for college. Sheridan earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Science with a minor in English. Facebook: www.Facebook.com/SheridanJeane Twitter: @SheridanJeane Web: www.SheridanJeane.com

22 responses »

  1. Deb in Tarpon Springs

    Best Wishes on your new endeavor! –deb

    Reply
  2. This is awesome Sheri! Looking forward to following your blog cousin, best of luck with it!

    Reply
  3. Sheridan, I look forward to your insights on the writing craft. Setting up–and operating regularly–a blog may be one of the most important insights into the writing craft (or perhaps reader craft). Tim

    Reply
  4. Nice looking blog. Be sure to let us know when you update.

    Reply
  5. Nice going, Sheri. Best of luck – Eddie

    Reply
  6. FANTASTIC!!
    Best of Luck!
    You rock.

    Reply
  7. Christy Jankowski

    Sheri,

    You’re off to a great start.

    Congrats,

    Christy (Critique buddy)

    Reply
  8. Wendy Campbell

    Great idea, Sheri! Looks good.

    Wendy

    Reply
  9. Kristine Thompson

    Looks great! Best of luck.
    Kristine

    Reply
  10. Winnie Ferguson

    keep it up –write lots. Write often. Keep the words moving

    Reply

Leave a Reply

